Search Search

Undergraduate Academic Standards and Honors Committee

Responsibilities

The Undergraduate Academic Standards and Honors Committee (UASH) is responsible for awarding a variety of academic honors (e.g., graduation with Honors, and the Green, Frohlich and Sigma Xi prizes) and for ensuring that a consistent set of standards and rules is applied in academic matters involving undergraduates.

Members

UASH is composed of a chair and 8 professors elected by the Caltech faculty, 5 students (3 voting, 2 alternate) selected by the Interhouse Committee (IHC), the Registrar, and the non-voting Undergraduate Deans. The current members of UASH are:

Faculty / Staff

Daniel P. Weitekamp, Chair
Jean Paul Ampuero Saenz
Paul M. Bellan
John F. Brady
Warren C. Brown
Michael H. Dickinson
James R. Heath
Frank C. Porter
Mary Neary Morley *
Kevin Gilmartin *
Barbara Green *
Lesley Nye * 

 

Students

Kathleen Chinetti **
Anne Dorsey
Stephanie Huard
Erin Isaza
Jake Larson **
Margaret Walter **






* ex officio member
 
** alternate

Handbook for Students

The UASH Handbook for Students (PDF) provides students with information about how to prepare petitions for submission to UASH.

Forms

Forms to submit to UASH are available from the Deans' or Registrar's office or here in PDF format. If you download a form, you may complete it electronically (using the freely available Adobe Acrobat Reader), but must submit it to the registrar's office in person.

Many of these forms will need:

Links

Meeting Dates

UASH meets in the Center for Student Services, Brennen Conference Room, 3rd Floor.  Below are the scheduled meeting times for 2016-17. 

Summer Term 2016

9:00am Wednesday, August 3 - First Meeting of Term - petitions due Thursday, July 28 at 1:00pm

Fall Term 2016

1:00pm Thursday, September 22 - First Meeting of Term - petitions due Monday, September 19 at 1:00pm

1:00pm Friday, September 23 - Appeals Meeting - petitions due Thursday, September 22 at 3:00pm

9:00am Tuesday, November 29 - Drop Day meeting if needed - petitions due Thursday, November 17 at 1:00pm

Winter Term 2017

9:00am Thursday, January 5 - First Meeting of Term - petitions due Tuesday, January 3 at 1:00pm

9:00am Friday, January 6 – Appeals Meeting - petitions due Thursday, January 5 at 1:00pm

9:00am Tuesday, February 28 – Drop Day meeting if needed - petitions due Thursday, February 23 at 1:00pm

Spring Term 2017

9:00am Tuesday, April 4 - First Meeting of Term - petitions due Thursday, March 30 at 1:00pm

9:00am Friday, April 7 – Appeals Meeting - petitions due Thursday, April 6 at 1:00pm

9:00am Wednesday, May 31 – Drop Day meeting if needed - petitions due Thursday, May 25 at 1:00pm

9:00am Wednesday, June 28 - Last meeting of Spring - petitions due Monday, June 26 at 1:00pm

Summer Term 2017

9:00am Wednesday, August 2 - First Meeting before Fall Term - petitions due Thursday, July 27 at 1:00pm

updated 8/8/2016